top of page

Mike Walters' Books

The Rogue River Incident - Case XI Book I  

It's Happening Again

In 1949 five individuals spotted an unidentified flying object hovering over the Rogue River near Gold Beach, Oregon. The Air Force sent a team to investigate and were unable to repudiate the eyewitness claims. The event, known as The Rogue River Incident - Case X, remains unexplained.

Decades later, in the small town of Rogue River, Oregon, which borders the wild and scenic river of the same name, outdoor photographer Mitch Wilde is thrust into a violent and unexpected situation when his best friend is shot with an arrow leaving him seemingly unharmed. As more strange situations occur, an eccentric neighbor confronts Mitch and presents evidence of potential threats to their sleepy little town.

When Mitch captures on film unexplained footage of something slithering out of a nearby lake and returns home to show the footage to the eccentric neighbor, the duo is drawn into a web of chaotic events as their small town comes under siege from unknown forces.

Mitch scrambles to understand it all and protect the ones he holds most dear. What follows in this book is classified as The Rogue River Incident, Case XI. It’s Happening Again. 

"Great character development, likable characters to boot, and a mystery that just yearns to be solved." (Rebecca Skane, Portsmouth Review).

"An original and impressively well-written novel deftly crafted and highly entertaining by an author who will leave his readers looking eagerly toward his next effort." (James Cox, Midwest Review) 

Front book cover of Rogue River Incident Case XI book 1 written by Mike Walters Mystery Novelist

The Rogue River Incident - Case XI Book II  

No One Is Safe

Rescued from a desperate situation, Mitch Wilde finds the stakes raised for him, his loved ones, and his small Oregon town of Rogue River.

Mitch’s wife, Mabey, is alone and on the run, fighting for her own survival. Jasper, Mitch's cantankerous old neighbor, and his best friend Jack Jenson return in book two of Mike Walters's debut paranormal mystery duology with Sci-Fi elements.

Mysteries further unfold in The Rogue River Incident, Case XI Book II as fast-paced events take the original characters into a multitude of unexpected directions. The invasion of Rogue River from outside sources continues.

Are they Alien forces looking for human subjugation or covert human entities from a parallel universe? Will Rogue River residents unravel the mystery of the forces wreaking havoc in their small Oregon town and save themselves? Can Mabey Wilde rise to the occasion and overcome challenges she never imagined she'd face? Will Mitch Wilde make the right decisions to save those closest to him?

All is revealed in the sequel to The Rogue River Incident, Book I 

Front book cover of Rogue River Incident Case XI book 2 written by Mike Walters Mystery Novelist

Hidden Beneath the Pines

All Families Have Secrets


Out of curiosity, an esteemed businessman Matt Walker, concerned by an unexpected phone call he receives from an estranged ex-wife heads to the home they once shared and to his dismay walks into a crime scene.


Thinking they have their man, seasoned detective Mara Graley, and a rookie partner with anger issues are surprised when the ex, sobbing but relieved, rushes into Walker's arms. For a short time, the detectives shift their focus until later that evening when a body washes up on the lakeshore of Walker's current home.


Now the prime suspect, in a race between a killer on the loose and detectives breathing down his neck, Walker is forced into a challenging predicament to clear his name and protect those he loves.


Walters uses his beloved Southern Oregon as the story's backdrop and keeps you turning pages, and wondering who did it, to the end.    

Front book cover of Hidden Beneath the Pines written by Mike Walters Mystery Novelist

The Good Sheriff

No One Heard Their Screams

​A Grief Stricken Sheriff Searching For Purpose. ​A Medical Examiner With An Uncontrollable Passion. ​A Migrant Worker Caught In A Web Of Hope.​A Narcissist Who Has No Limits To Greed. ​A Peaceful Valley That Can't Contain Them All
Sheriff Maxwell Wilcox has dedicated his life to taking action and defending the vulnerable, but all that changes when he is forced to watch, paralyzed and helpless, as his wife succumbs to cancer.


Broken by his grief, Wilcox seeks solace in the wild emptiness of the Pacific Northwest in Southern Oregon, where he’s offered a temporary position as Sheriff of Jackson County. The locals are kind, salt-of-the-earth people, and Wilcox finds himself drawn to the district’s medical examiner, Dr. Heather Stone, whose sharp intellect and friendship leave him heartened—and conflicted.


But the Rogue Valley’s quiet calm is about to be shattered. A body has been found, and it isn’t the usual road accident or drug overdose. The victim, according to eyewitnesses, fell from the sky, dropping out of thin air. The facts are baffling, then more panicked calls start to light up the 911 lines…


Sheriff Wilcox came to the Rogue Valley to find peace, but instead, he’s grappling with a growing conspiracy that’s unimaginable and born of pure malice. To protect the community he now calls home, Wilcox must resolve the pain of his past and defeat an evil more significant than any he’s faced before.            

Book cover of the The Good Sheriff written by Mike Walters Mystery Novelist
bottom of page